Jonathan Quick robs Connor McDavid with glove save … or did he? (Video)


In Sunday night’s contest against the Los Angeles Kings, Connor McDavid thought he scored the game-tying goal with 4-seconds left on the clock. Yet, the official was signaled ‘no goal.’

Technically, he did score the goal. 

Only one problem: anyone who isn’t Superman couldn’t see it through the catching glove of Jonathan Quick. The goaltender managed to grab the puck out of the air right as it was crossing the goal line. 

The officials got the Situation Room on the line and they confirmed the no goal call. After the game, the NHL released this explanation:

At 19:56 of the third period in the Los Angeles Kings/Edmonton Oilers game, video review was inconclusive in determining if Connor McDavid’s shot completely crossed the Kings goal line. Therefore the referee’s call on the ice stands – no goal Edmonton.

It’s inconclusive because they can’t see through Quick’s glove as he swipes it over the goal line. The puck is in his glove, we know that, but we can’t see that.

Naturally this ignited a whirlwind of ridiculous controversy for a Sunday night. People were taking screenshots like the one at the top of this article showing a diagonal angle which makes the puck look like it’s crossing the line.

Here’s the thing, the NHL doesn’t use diagonal camera angles when determining if a goal crossed the line or not. Why? GEOMETRY! I proudly earned a ‘C’ in that subject so I’ll call on Sportsnet’s John Shannon to explain the problem with diagonal camera angles.

No doubt this will reignite the goal line technology conversation until something new hits the news cycle. Perhaps the NHL can look into designing clear goaltending gloves? How about pucks that explode when they cross the goal line? Or maybe bring back an oldie, the glow puck, but make it really glow by charging it with a little bit of radioactivity.