Montreal’s Marie-Philip Poulin cleans up at CWHL Awards Gala

Remember that one time when that one Montreal player took home all the trophies at a league award show?

Yes, you’re right. That was Les Canadiennes de Montreal forward (and crusher of American Olympic dreams), Marie-Philip Poulin, who cleaned up at the CWHL Awards Gala on Friday night in Ottawa.

Take a look at the hardware handed out for the CWHL. Unless otherwise stated, team coaches and general managers voted on the awards below.

Angela James Bowl (most points), Jayna Hefford Memorial Trophy (player voted MVP), and the CWHL Most Valuable Player – Marie-Philip Poulin, Les Canadiennes de Montreal

Also nominated for CWHL Most Valuable Player: Natalie Spooner, Toronto Furies and Laura Fortino, Brampton Thunder.

Poulin began her CWHL career in 2007 with the then-Montreal Stars at 17-years-old in addition to her many commitments playing for Hockey Canada. She left the league in 2010 to attend Boston University. Over four seasons at BU, she netted 81 goals and 100 assists in 111 games played. 

Her return to the CWHL was a successful one. Poulin, soon to be 25, finished the regular season with 23 goals and 23 assists in 22 games for Les Canadiennes.

Deeming her a ‘generational talent’ doesn’t begin to quantify how incredible Poulin is and will be for years to come.

CWHL Defenseman of the Year – Laura Fortino, Brampton Thunder 

Also nominated: Lauriane Rougeau, Les Canadiennes and Julie Chu, Les Canadiennes. 

Fortino, 25, is in her second year with the CWHL. She led the Thunder in defensive scoring with 8 goals and 20 assists. Nine of her 28 points on the season came on the power play.

She is a product of Hockey Canada and assisted on the Poulin’s game winning goal to crush the Americans in Sochi. Prior to the Olympics, she played at Cornell University for four years amassing 133 points in 133 games played.

CWHL Goaltender of the Year – Charline Labonte, Les Canadiennes de Montreal

Also nominated: Genevieve Lacasse, Boston Blades and Erica Howe, Brampton Thunder 

Labonte, 33, is the undisputed No. 1 goaltender for Les Canadiennes. During the season, she earned a 17-2-0 record with a league leading five shutouts, 1.52 GAA, and .925 SV%.

She is one of the most decorated goaltenders Hockey Canada history. Now she adds the Goaltender of the Year trophy to her case that already houses four Olympic gold medals, among other awards.

Rookie of the Year – Elana Lovell, Calgary Inferno

Also nominated: Katia Clement-Heydra, Les Canadiennes and Rebecca Vint, Brampton Thunder

Lovell, 26, was second on the Calgary Inferno in scoring with 26 points in 24 game played. Between 2009-2013, she played for the University of Calgary Dinos. The forward took two years off from competitive play before entering the CWHL draft this past year. She’s what you’d classify as a ‘steal’ with Calgary getting her in the seventh round. 

Coach of the Year – Tyler Fines, Brampton Thunder

This the Fines first year as a coach in the CWHL. He was hired in September after spending much of his career in the junior ranks as a head coach and/or general manager.

When Fines came on board, he was inheriting a team that finished last in the CWHL with a 6-16-2 record. Working with Thunder GM Lori Dupuis, they turned the roster around to a 16-7-1 record. 

Humanitarian Award – Lisa Marie Breton-Lebreux

Breton Lebreux is one of the original founders of the CWHL. 

From Jared Book on Breton-Lebreux’s career and what she did to help start up the league:

Breton-Lebreux was in charge of everything from finding coaches, to getting uniforms and even booking ice time. As a team, the players needed to raise $15,000. Every player had to pay, or find sponsors to raise the money. As the CWHL was a non-profit, every donation was tax deductible. On top of that, she was on the phone every week for two hours for a meeting of the league’s board of directors. They had to decide everything from disciplinary committees to overtime rules.

Breton-Lebreux was on the board of directors for the league’s first four seasons. She was also the general manager for the Montreal Stars. Eventually, Meg Hewings took over as general manager as, after following the team and helping with the team’s communications, she realized the team needed one.

Chairman’s Trophy – Les Canadiennes de Montreal

This award is given to the top team in the regular season. 

Montreal finished with 42 points in the standings and a 21-3-0 record. They went undefeated at home and were 9-3-0 on the road. 

The real trophy the women really want – the Clarkson Cup – will be handed out Sunday at Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa as Les Canadiennes go to battle with the No. 2 seeded Calgary Inferno. The game is at 4:00pm ET and can be seen on CWHL Live for a small fee.