Selke Trophy Finalists: Bergeron vs. Kesler vs. Koivu

The NHL announced Wednesday Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, Ryan Kesler of the Anaheim Ducks, and Mikko Koivu of the Minnesota Wild are the finalists for the 2016-17 Frank J. Selke Trophy, which is awarded to “to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.” And by that, it means ‘best two-way center.’

The award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

So, who will pick up the hardware at the T-Mobile Center in Las Vegas on June 21?

Why Patrice Bergeron Deserves The Selke

From the NHL:

Bergeron was the NHL’s busiest player in the face-off circle for third consecutive season, leading the League with 1,812 draws and 1,089 wins. His face-off win percentage of 60.1% ranked third in the NHL. Bergeron also ranked first overall in the team puck possession metric SAT (shot attempts differential), as the Bruins registered 439 more shot attempts than they allowed when Bergeron was on the ice while each team had five skaters per side. The three-time Selke winner is a finalist for the sixth consecutive year, matching the streak of Detroit’s Pavel Datsyuk (2008 through 2013) as the longest since the award was introduced in 1978.

Continue reading